The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

In the memorandum from business manager of a televison station, it is stated that time devoted to weather and local news should be augmented and bring back to its former level beacause of cancelled advertising contracts and complaints received from viewers about their conern with stations's coverage of weather and local news.

So, at first glance author's argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptuions.

To begin with, the argument readily assumes that people's complaints received were regarding the content shown on late night TV programs. There is no evidence what did people had to say and what were the queries of viewers. The argument could have been much clearer if its explicitly stated about people complaining of the content being displayed and their predilection watching weather and local news.

In addition to this, the argument claims that local businesses that used to advertise during late night contracts have cancelled their advertisig contracts because of devoted increased time to national news. Is it not possible that there were other reasons of cancelling the contracts? It is nowhere stated that advertising company cancelled their contracts because TV channels were inclined towards national news.To strengthen this claim, there should be a plausible evidence about the reasons of anulling the contract. What were the exact problems of companies?

It is possible that other channels were offering great deal to showcase their companies advertisemnets.

Finally, there are some questions that needs to be answered. It is stated that to attract more viewers and avoid losing further advertising revenues, TV stations should restore time devoted to weather and local news t it's former level. Is there any gurantee or evidence that viewership would be restored? How reliable was the survey to get to the point of devoting more time to weather and local news? Is it not possible that people are interested in national news? What were the other news channels displaying in that time period?

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for above reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about viewers complaints, reason for anulled contracts and evidence for getting back same viewership after restoring the time devoted to local and weather news.Without this information it is open to debate.