Sedan owner

In a note, it is stated that the friend of writer should buy a Kia car because according to him Kia has a great features and it is cost effective compared to Alfa cars. So, At first glance author's argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions. Stated in this way, argument fails to consider several factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

To begin with, author readily assumes that the features which Kia car possesed will be apt for his friend without thinking about what are his needs or how exactly he wants his car to be. Apart from design and fuel economy there are no other factors stated in the letter. It is possible that his friend needs a hatch-back and not a sedan car.The argument could have been clearer if it explicitly stated that the friend of sedan owner has same expectation as his friends when buying a car.

In addition to this, the argument claims that in past quarter alone, 8000 Kia cars were sold. It is assumed that because of the great sales of Kia cars it is really a great deal to buy. It is possible that Kia cars were launched way before Alfa cars and the Kia car's comnpany wants to launch a new car with some advancement in features so they had great discounts on Kia cars to exhaust the inventoy of Kia. This is weak and absurd claim that just because of past quarter sales one should buy Kia. If argument have mentioned about sale of Kia from when it was launched and what are exact sales figure from the launch, it would be plausible to think of getting a Kia over Alfa.

Finally, there are some more questions that needs to be answered. What are the features of Alfa Cars? Are Alfa and Kia are same type of cars? Are there any other brands of cars which are superior than Kia and Alfa too? What are the features that sedan owner's friend wants? How is Kia in long run and is it's upkeep comparatively lower than Alfa? Which fuel types does the car supports? It is possible that owner's friend wants a electric car due to increasing fuel prices.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for above assumptions and is therefore unconvincing. Without convincing answers to the above questions one is left with impression that claim is more of wishful thinking rather than substantiate evidence and the argument is open for debate.