The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum of a business manager of a TV station, he/she suggests that the station return to its roots and reinstate local and weather news to their former importance to prevent further loss in local business. The manager, however would require to present much evidence to back his claims.

Firstly, the manager is referring to only the late night news program in his memorandum. It is possible that many people who are interested in the local and weather news are unavailable to watch the program if it is cast at a very late hour. In this case, even if the former programming pattern was restored, the people may not be able to watch it. The manager, must thus provide evidence that adding a separate local or weather news program during a different part of the day (Breakfast time when people may check weather for rain/ other anomlies before heading out for the day or the local evening when weary workers may return to their homes and watch the news) would not be beneficial instead of changing the current programming pattern.

Secondly, the business manager argues that the channel is loosing business from advertisements of local businesses and establishments. He/she would have to provide evidence that this is not due to some external unseen factors such as economic problems in the region which would lead to a cut in the advertising budget of many companies. Evidence should also be provided to show that the station is not gaining business from companies and businesses from other regions since their news program can now serve a wider demographic with news from around that country. Since the shift in programming trends could be seen as a move by the channel to expand operations to a bigger audience, the move to reinstate local news would hinder or even reverse the progress that the channel has made to cater to a wider audience

Lastly, the complaints that the station had been receiving could be from a very small percentage of people from the whole since complaints do not address those people who are satisfied with the current news coverage. The manager would thus need to provide evidence, probably in the form of data from a nation/state/region wide survey that covers people from all walks of life or data that the programming is hurting the channels ratings. This would give the channel a wider perspective to better tackle their problem of complaints agains the current programming.

In conclusion, the business manager needs to provide a substantial amount of evidence to support his claims of the national news coverage causing the TV station a loss of business and audience before a move to the channels previous ways of local and weather broadcasting can be considered as a viacble move for the Television station.