A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

School education is of immense importance. It is the aspect of one's life that shapes what kind of an individual one might become as a citizen of the country. According to the prompt, a nation should have a standardized national syllabus for all schooling up until college where they may choose the subjects that may interest them. In my opinion, I moderately disagree with the statement for three reasons.

To begin with, a standard nationalized syllabus will enable all the citizens of the nation to be on equal terms when it comes to opportunities and exposure. For instance, consider a country with a relatively uniform society where the difference of culture is not much, language is uniform, and so on. Both, the rich and poor students of this country would get an equal opportunity to succeed in life. Their higher studies and professional career would not be hindered or boosted because of the schooling which they may have received in their early years. They will stand on equal footing and will be able to make their way in this competitive world on their own merit.

However, this argument would fall flat when considering a country as vast as India where there are a billion people who speak hundreds of languages, follow different religions and essentially live completely different lives from one another. A nationalized syllabus in this case would force people from many segments to undergo a major cultural and behavioural change which may be fine for some, but unacceptable for others. Here, a syllabus devised by a local authority with guidance and input from a national governing body would ensure that all students get a wholesome, well rounded education and equal footing with both their national and international peers.

Lastly, a varied syllabus in the early life of a student would help her find where her interest lies. A certain fixed syllabus with a variety of elective and audit subjects would surely ensure a more well-rounded indiviadual who knows herself and the world around her. The choosing of subjects would also enable her to become a better decision maker and risk taker and would also enable her to choose her own career earlier on in life. This would be beneficial for both, her and the nation as the country will have responsible citizens who can think for themselves and are not just running a rat race for grades.

In conclusion, this is a highly contested topic with many perspectives and no simple answer. Nations have produced world class engineers, thinkers, and excellence in all walks of life with different approaches to education. In this matter, there may be no certain answer as being human is being unique and this uniqueness is what differentiates us from mute animals.