Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

The statement provided may have its pros and cons by itself, but I disagree with the statement.

I am of the belief that both business and science students should be required to take a certain number of courses in the humanities. the inclusion of such subjects will surely result in a well rounded graduate with a broader view of the world.

When people study only one field, sometimes their field of view may be narrowed and they may view the world either as black or white. However, this is not always the case. The world is a very complex place where a lot of things appear in the gray, where a lot of principles coincide and are not separated by the boundaries of courses or subjects which are created by humans and are imaginary.

Take the example of environmental studies. The subject must be taught to all science students and even business graduates who will become future business owners. It is critical that the graduates know their responsibilites towards the environment and also the consequences their actions may cause on the environment.

Moreover, courses like history each us not to repeat past mistakes that humanity has made. Geography teaches us the varied cultures, environments and wonders the world has for its people. Economy teaches us to manage money better and be financially stable. Philosophy teaches the art of thinking. Literature, music and art show us the creative potential the human mind posesses.

In conclusion, I believe that all graduate students must be required to take humanities courses to get a broader view of the world and not be narrowed down in their vision for a new world that they will inevitably end up building.