In a letter to west

In a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg news, the author has stated that the proposal for an access road at the edge of the West Lanburg wetlands has been rejected by the council citing concerns that the road may impact the ecosystem and result in further decrease in population of tufted groundhogs that once numbered in the millions. However, the council's conclusions are based on some assumptions that would require clarification before the decision can be enforced.

To begin with, the population of the tufted groundhog is based on historical 'ancient' data. The reliability of this data may be questioned and more details would be required for establishing it as a reliable source. For example, the studies may have been carried out by extrapolating data from a small sample size. There could have been the lack of computing power for building reliable computer models to estimate the population which may result in a very inaccurate number.This argument, if true, would severely weaken the case of the council.

Also, a new estimation study should be carried out to determine the current population of the tufted groundhog before suggesting a complete prohibition on building and development. It is possible that previous building in the area did not affect the population of the groundhogs at all.

Further, the argument stands on the assumption that the groundhog population will behave in a similar way to the sea otter population in eastern carpentria. however, the two species may have very different responses to development in their area and additional studies would be required to determine the same. If the development does not affect the groundhogs habitats significantly, it may be argued that the access to the area may allow better studied on the wildlife , thus weakening the argument this is based on.

Lastly, the development of the road would be on the edge of the wetlands. Since only the edges are being disturbed, majority of the ecosystem may not even notice the changes happening at the edge of the biosphere they live in. if this is true, the councils's argument would not hold water.

In conclusion, the decision to allow the development of the access road needs to be studied further, possibly in the form of extensive research and experimentation and the pros and cons sufficiently weighed for the viability of such a project could be considered.