The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are many questions one may ask the executives of both stores whenconsidering the possibility of opening new stores in Salem.

Firstly, Namen believes that both the population and median income of the suburb will continue to grow. However, they do not provide any data that would suggest the increasing prosperity of the families living in the area. Even if this data is provided, only speculations can be made about the future as there are many uncertainties in the assumtion. for example, the economy may take a turn for the worst or the population stagnates of starts decreasing because a new city is wooing people with its greater job and business opportunities.

Secondly, both the stores assume that the families in the suburbs would be willing to spend their money at their stores. However, the people in the suburbs may trust other brands or boutique stores that have operated there since a lot of time. Also the people in the suburbs may not have the same spending parctices that the people in winston do.

Thirdly, Roscoe's belief that the suburban population is more family oriented may turn out to be false if say, the low housing costs in the suburbs lured the working young population who want their own house outside the city with the promise of a healthier, better quality of life.

these arguments compel me to believe that both the stores need to carry out much more research before they can open stores in Salem.