The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given memorandum from the business manager of a television station, the writer contends that the station needs to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to preclude attracting more viewers to programs and avoiding loss of any further advertising revenues. The author enumerates a couple of factors to espouse the claim. While more time was allocated to national news, most complaints were received from viewers who were concerned with the tv's coverage of weather and local news. Also, a local business started to cancel their advertisements for the late-night program. Though the argument sounds plausible, copious logical flaws are presented; the necessity of revision is required for attaining a more desirable degree.

The first point argues most of the complaints are received from viewers because they ask for more allocated time on local news and weather. The important fact is that there is no given absolute number of complaints; the author needs to convince the argumentation based on a large number of negative feedback. For example, the broadcast could gain merely three complaints, and two of them were about this issue. Then, the overall tiny number of complaints can be negligible since it implicates that the large viewers are still enjoying the current system of the late-night new program. Or, it could indicate the majority of people enjoy watching the current program with more federal news rather than local news. Providing total complaints the station received is going to help to convince the claim that appreciated people are not happy with the current dissection of time.

The television station has experienced lower revenues since the local businesses have started to cancel their commercial. The pellucid reason for why the businesses have decided to cancel the contracts is not given in the passage. Many different reasons could be involved in the situation. The price of commercials could be too expensive in the television station, or they could ascertain the competitor tv show proffer the cheaper price. The correlation between giving up more commercials and the late-night program with more national news is not limpid. The reason for less revenue in the commercial sector needs to be elucidated through the distinguished method such as conducting the survey.

Lastly, no comparison between the current trend and the previous trend is given. For example, notwithstanding lower revenue on local commercials, it could have noticeably higher profits from national commercials; or, the current tv could engender more viewers who are interested in national news. The paucity of the comparison makes the logic dangerous. The author should bring the comparison to make the claim impeccable.

The claim based on these reasons is not trustworthy. The author should elucidate more logical reasoning to gainsay all the inflammatory points and convey more telling arguments to readers.