'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the c

The business manager of the suggests that time devoted to local news and weather which was previously reduced, should be increased to attract more viewers and to avoid losing advertisement revenue. However, no soild explanation is given why incresing the time dedicated to local news and weater would give in the mentioned resuls.

The complaints received about the coverage of local news and weather do not necessarily suggest that the viewers were not satisfied with the time duration of these sections of the late-night show. The complaints could have been regarding the qulity of the content in these two sections or the presentation, like the grapics used to show the weater report, of the two sections. If the complaints indeed were regarding the decreased time slots of these sections then resoring the previous durations could help to address these complaints.

It is also assumed that local businesses cancelled their advertising contracts due to the change in time dedicated to weater and local news. This may not have been the case, the cancellation of contracts coud be driven by a number of reasons. Local businesses could have realised that late night slot shows have less viewers than evening slot shows with not much difference in advertising costs. They could have also found that more people prefer to watch soaps late night insted of news.

They could also have found better ways of advertising than television, online and newspaper advertisements could have proved to be more beneficial for the businesses. A general trend of shifting from T.V. advertisements to online advertisements could also have been the reason for cacellation of contracts. More and more people now spend more time on their phones and laptons than on seeing T.V. and online advertisements would thus cater to a larger audience. It is unlikely that the late-night news show will not lose more advertising revenue if this is the case.

Finally, complaints don't indicate that the viewership of the late night show had decreased, it just shows that people were not satisfied with the content. If the decrease in time duration of the weather and local news sections was did not result in loss of viewers,there is no reason to believe that restoring the lenght of the sections will result in an increse in viewers of the late-night news program.