Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup

Most people don't find it easy to adjust in new setups, change can be tough for many to deal with. Adjusting in a foreign country can be difficult for many students. Sending college and university students to a foreign country for a semester has more possible negative outcomes than the positive ones.

It is going to take time for the student to get used to the working atmosphere in a foreign country, it is possible that this change in atmosphere will lower the quality and quantuity of the output of this student. This can result in lower grades for the student which then can have a negative impact on the employability of the student. The student may find it difficult to adjust to the teaching system and thus not be able to understand what is being taught in the classroom. If the student is used to getting assignments throughout the semester rather than a single exam at the end of the semester, or vice-versa, adjusting to the new system can be difficult for the student who may fail to shw his/her full potential in the new setup.

Going to a foreign country that too for a whole semester can cost the student a lot of money. Most students today are already in debt and manage to pay their tution fees with great difficulty. In such a situation going to a foreign country will lead to an increase in the amount of debt they have to repay after completing their degree. This financial stress can lower the performance of the student who then wont be able to gather anything positive from this experience of studying a semester in a foreign country.

There is often a huge difference in culture and eating habits of various countries. Students may find it tough to accomodate to new kind of food availible in the foreign country they go to study in. The food may be too spicy and result in gastro-intestinal troubles for the student. This can result in damage to the student's health and hence the student won't be able to study well in such a state. The student can also find adjusting in a foreign culture distressing. If a student has to go to a country where students have little rights and are subjected to too much scrutiny he/she may get too flustered in that foreign set up. Sending a student to a country where females can't drive of where health care is not availible at ease can be distressing for the student especially when the student is not used to such an environment.

Sending students to foreign countries may result in an exciting experience for some students but there is a strong possibility of this turing into a nightmare for many. The financial, acedemic and health risks associated with this policy are too many and too grave to ignore. Thus universities and colleges mustn't require of thier students to spend a semester studying in a foreign country.