"The desire of corporations to maximize profits creates conflict with the general welfare of the nation at large." Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your o

Corporations maximize their profit at the cost of the welfare of the people and the environment of the country.

The greed to make more profit often results in corporations resorting to unscrupulous practices which prove to have an adverse effect on people as well as environment. Many corporations try to get their way around many rules that regulate proper disposal of factory wastes, this results in contamination of the environment with pollutants which can be harmful for people, animals and plants. Noxious discharges into the water bodies can poison animals and spoil crops if used for irrigation. In an attempt to get cheap raw material corporations damage the environment by excessive mining and deforestration. The damage cased by such actions has a lomg lasting affect on the well being of the nation.

Corporations often try to increase their profit by infringing on worker's rights. Workers are made to work for very low wages and in unsafe working conditions. They may be forced to work long shifts without any breaks, this often causes the worker's health to deteriorate. In an attempt to get cheap labour corporations are lured to engage in human trafficking and slavery. The workers are smuggled in from many countries illegally and are made to work in return for a very low maintainance cost.

Another technique used by corporations to maximize their profits is to produce substandard products. They use cheap and low quality raw materials to reduce the input costs, while selling the product to the customer at high rates. This substandard product can often fail to perform its function and cause damage to the user. Substandard food products can cause food poisoning that can result in death of the consumers. Face creams with low quality raw materials often cause rashes and damage the users skin. The only party benefitting from this is the corporation that makes money at the cost of the welfare of the consumers.

The desire to make more and more profit can result in corporations resoting to many illeagal and unscrupulous practices. These practices need to be kept in check by the government otherwise they can result in destruction of the nation by greedy corporates.