Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Dr. Karp suggests that the observation-centered approach, that was used by Dr. Field, to studying cultures is invalid and that an interview-centered approach would be more apt for the purpose. He uses his interviews with children living in a group of islands including Teria to support his claim and suggest that children of Teria are reared not by the entire village, as concluded by Dr. Field, but mainly by their parents. Dr. Karp's argument is based on many assumptions and further evidence is required to prove it.

The interviews were conducted with children living in the group of islands including Teria, there is no data presented that would indicate that a most of the children interviewed were from Teria. Children could be raised in islands other than Teria using practices different than Teria. If most of the children interviewed were not from Teria then interviewing them would not provide information about Terian culture. There is a chance that in such a situation if observation-centred approach was used to study the children interviewed it would provide the same conclusion as drawn from the interviews.

Even if most of the interviewed children were from Teria, the fact that they spend more time talking about their biological parents doesn't invalidate the claim that the whole village raises them. There could be many raesons why children devote more time talking about their biological parents, like having more respect for the parents as they have given birth to them, living in the same hose as their parents and having features similar to their parents which make them feel more connected to them. To conclude that talking more about their parents means that they were reared mostly by them would require a concrete evidence to support thr theory that children talk more about the people that raise them.