A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Each student has distinct talents and interests. Having a uniform national curriculum set by the state for all the students before they enter college will have many harmful results.

Students plan to get a variety of degrees and specialize in varying fields, teaching all of them the same curriculum till they enter college will not prepare them specifically to do good in their field of choice. For example, a student who wants to be go to a fine arts college may not want to study maths and focus more on sketching, however, a student interested in being an engineer would want to have a strong base in maths to do good in college. Thus, designing a single curriculum that would be suitable for both the students is not possible.

Even if an attempt is made to formulate a curriculum that includes basics required for all the future courses that students are likely to study in college, that curriculum would be too vast. Such a curriculum would be too tough for the students to cope with and would overburden students with subjects that they don't want to pursue further in life.

Forcing students to study subjects they are not interested in could make them less enthusiastic about studies. Under a common curriculum students could find themselves trying to master subjects that they have no aptitude in and no enthusiasm for, this can make them demotivated. Forcing a student who is bad in maths to pass a calculus cource can make the student give up on studies alltogether.

Finally, different college cources require students to have different aptitudes and talents to become successful professionals. A doctor may need to have the capacity to study for long hours and to memorise a lot, an engineer would need to be good at maths, a designer would need to have a good sense of colour shades. Making all the students study the same stubjects would not help to refine their inner talents. It would not help to make them good at what they are more intersted in and would not contribute towards making better professionals. In contrast, teaching a student, who is aspiring to be an engineer, maths and science would make him/her more likely to do better in college and to be a better professional.

Thus, it is not feasible to make all students study the same curriculum, as that curriculum would not do justice to the individual interests and aptitudes of different students. It would also be cumbersome for the students and hamper their performance as a professional.