"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstr

The internet advertising company's claim that there their services increase profitability is not sufficiently backed up by the example that they present. The success of the Furniture Depot could be due a a variety of reasons and there is a chance that the services of the internet advertising agency are not one of those.

The advertisement states that there has been an increse in the sales and that the Furniture Depot employed the services of the internet advertising agency. There is no evidence presented that the increse in sales was due to the internet advertising. A number of resons could be responsible for the increse in sales of the current year compared to the last year. The Furniture Depot could have introduced a new product which the buyers found to be innovative and price friendly and that might have resulted in more sales. There could have been a marked improvement in the quality of the products produced which woul have resulted in more people baying the products.

Increase in the number of outlet stores and setting up of an online shop for the products could also help explain the increase of sales. With more people having access to the products easily the probability of the sale of the product increases. Improvement in the supply and distribution of the products could have also played a role in increse of their sale. A better network of distributors would make the product availible in the market as soon as it is produced thus reducing the storage cost. A prompt restocking of sold out products could have helped inmaking the customer see the brand as a dependable one.

There could have been an improvement in the economy of the country resulting in the populace buying more. This increse could have been almost uniform in all sectors and its benifit could have been reaped by the Furniture Depot as well. Buying latest furniture could also have come into fashion recently due to promotion by some celebrities or due to increase in popularity of T.V. soaps showing trendy furniture.

Further, there is no evidence to show that the people who saw the online advertisement were those who bought the products from Furniture Depot. The customers could have come to know about the products through some other source such as a newspaper advertisement or through some previous customer. There is some chance that some of the people who saw the advertisement bought from the Furniture Depot, but, there is no data provided showing what percentatage of the total buyers had seen the online advertisement.

The argument would be stronger if it showed that a significant percentage of the buyers had seen the online advertisement. Providing data about the groth in sales of other furniture stores which didn't use the advertising service in comparison to the furniture Depot could also be provided.