All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.Write a response in which you discu

Hiring outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently is beneficial to companies in many ways.I do not agree with the statement that if companies spent more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary. While listening to their employees can be instrumental in improving the efficiency of the company it can't replace hiring of outside consultants. Opinions and suggestions of employees must be taken into consideration by the company as well as the consultants.

Consultants hired by companies are experts in giving suggestions that would improve the companies performance, they often have relevent degrees that the employees lack. They have a vast experience which they can use to improve the companies performance, their exposure to the working of many companies makes them ideal candidates to compare the company that has hired them to other suffessful companies that they have encountered and apply formulas that have worked in other companies to the company. Often companies face similar problems, a consultant having previous experience can come in handy and save time and resourses for the company.

Employees on the other hand are only well informed about their own company and may not be able to device new and innovative suggestions to improve the efficiency that are used in other companies. They may have a deeper understading of their own company and thus their suggestions should be given importannce. However, that shouldn't be the only effort that the makes to improve its efficiency.

Employees may also be averse to some suggestions that they know will improve the efficiency of the company but will make their work more demanding. Steps such as installing biometric attendance systems are well known to immprove the efficiency of companies, this also makes it tough for the employees to come to the office late everyday. There is little chance that employees would themselves suggest such steps as it will be inconvenient to them.

Consultants will have a more balanced approach and hence should be hired.