The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Praising students for their positive actions while ignoring their negative actions is definately not the best way to teach.

If students get feedback just praising them for their positives that may feel that they have no shortcomings. They could fail to discern theeir weak points and thus be deluded about their abilities. For example, an english student who is good at spelling but can't form meaningful scentences, if just praised on his/her ability to spell well could feel that he/ she doing well in the his course well even if that is not the case. The student may feel that he has a good command over the language, as he has received only positive reviews, and fail to recognise his mistakes.

Not being aware about one's shortcomings would make it impossible for them to put in special effort to overcome them. This can hamper the improvement of a person and have a negative impact on his/her the overall behavior. If a child who is a good student but rude is only praised by his parents for getting good grades he may not realise that he is rude. He may be praised by elders for his good grades but his rudeness towards his peers and other people will eventually result in them having a negative impression of him. He could lose friend and well wishers by being rude to them and not realise the reason for it. Pointing out to such a kid that he is rude will allow him to work on this aspect of his being and improve as a person. He could take more efforts to be polite and that could result in him retaining more friends.

Even if people are not punished for negative actions they should be criticized for it. Not doing so and ignoring negative actions could result in the person picking up more and more negative habits. Consider a tailoring student who wastes too much cloth, if he is not crticized for it and taught to value cloth, he can develop a habit of wasting too much cloth. This habit would result in financial loss to the student as a professional. Negative actions if not corrected timely could become habits deeply ingrained in the person.

Thus, only praising people for positive actions can't result in holistic teaching, addressing the negatives is every bit as important. Finally it is overcoming these negatives that will develop the person into a better being.