The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station. “Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The author agrues here that becouse of increased time devoted to national news and less time to weather and local news, the Television station is loosing advertisement reveneue and not attracting more viewers. Stated in this way, the argument fails to explain several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To support this conclusions the author reasons to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that itprovides little credible support for the author's conclusions. Hence the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that there are substantial amount of viewers of the late-night news program. This is a merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, only a few amount of viewers really watch late night show and most/all of them need the previous weather and local news coverage during that particular time. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated the amount or percent of viewers really needed the program to be replace with its predecessor.

The author also points that due the late-night programs increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news, the station is loosing advertising contracts with the local businesses. This agains is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear colleration between loosing advertising contracts and increased time to national news. To illustrate further, the local business doesn't want their advertisement to be showing during the late-night news program or they want to show their advertisement in some new time slot or they would have found an alternate source of adverisement. If argument had provided evidence that because of the increased national news coverage in late night news program caising fall in advertisement contracts then it would ghave been a lot more convincing to the reader.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpusuassive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concreate evidence, perhaps by a detailed analysis of the claim. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level