An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The international development organization discovered vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, to reduce the deficiency problem, the organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. The organization suggest that the people of Tagus add this new breed of millet in there staple food. The prompt fails to address several key factors that need to be discussed and evaluated.

First of all, as the cost of new type of millet cose more and Tagus been an impoverished nation, they question that need to be asked is, does the national government have enough subsidies, that they can provide to the farmers. Will providing the subsidies to the farmers cause heavy debt on Tagus. Also we need to consider that if the new millet is planted, is the soil of Tagus capable to grow the new breed of millet? Will the production of new millet breed cause adverse effect on the growth of other plants? What about the fertility of soil?

Secondly, If the governement will provide subsidies, then in these case all the farmers will increase the production of new millet and decrease the production of other necessary plant. The same case that took place in rural part of Punjab, India. The indian government increase the subsidies on wheat production in the late 90's. Due to the increase in subsidies and sky rocketing profits more and more farmers started wheat production in the region leading to surplus production of wheat. As the wheat was produced in excess number the governemt started to export the excess wheat supply. But looking back few years the farmers in punjab are not making any profit on the wheat production and the fertility of soil has decreased. Leading to farmer protest all over the region. Can't the same case happen in Tagus.

Lastly, as new know that the millet been a staple food in Tagus, on what bases has the organization consider that people will readily adopt the new variety. Did they conduced any survey among the people? Also on what bases has the organization considered that the new breed of millet with high vitamin A will reduce the deficiency among people. Have they conducted studies of the effect of this new breed on humans? Have they considered whether or not the climatatic condition are suitable consumtion of the new breed of millet.

Finally moving forward with conclusion, we find that the argument prompt has several flaws that need to be discuss and evaluated. There need to be more concrete evidance on why should the government of Tagus the new type of millet in the nation.