Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Law s are nothing but a set of rules that are be implement by the government authority. This set of rules are put together to help the citizens, protect them and even provide the right of the citizens. Law can be a rule that is to be followed by every citizens, breaking a law can be punishable. From over speeding a vehicle to providing false document at the time of tax payment, both the actions are punishable but the punishment can varies on how severe the crime is.

Laws and legal system are put in action just so that the criminal are put behind the bars. It even arises a peace of mind for the citizens of nations, that even if a crime has taken place there is someone present to take the action against it. It is true that just by imposing a set of rules or law and to have a proper legal system - that looks into all the public matters, the problem in the modern society will be solved. But the laws try to maintain a sensibility in the mind of people, that breaking the law will be punishable.

Moving forward, it is true that just by imposing a list of laws that people are aware about, and even know the punishment that the authorities will take. People tend to commit crimes and break rules isn't ? There can be multiple reason why do they do so. One can be jobless for couple of years and need to feed his family take care of his wife, child and parents. To do one might find out the best way to make money over night by, robbing a bank or even a house. Knowing that he might be charged under multiple charges, he still commits the crime. Why so? The poverty made he do so, or the way the way he though to make over overnight.

It is also equally important to have, a large force who look for a crime to take place and reduce those crimes. Let consider an example of City, where the population is in millions, and to keep the crime rate low there need be a large enough police and legal force to look forward. But if for such a populations of 10 million people, there are only 1 million police officer, it will definelty put a lot of pressure on the department, to handle and maintain peace. Therefore it is equally important to have a proper legal force and not just laws.

To conclude, the number of crimes can be reduced but not completely stopped. Implementing new laws according to the modern problems is equally important. Also laws cannot change what is in the mind of people but can arise a sensibility among the people that breaking the law can put the behind bars or be punishable.