The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The topic raises the conventional issue to solve environmental problems caused by the consumer generated waste. The prompt states that to solve the problem the town should impose limit on the amount of trash they will accept from each household. Nevertheless, the household waste cannot be the main reason for the problems. The issue stated has few flaws that need to be addressed and discussed.

First of all, let us understand whether or not is consumer generated waste the only source of waste that is causing environmental problems. The problems can be caused by many more reasons, it can be due to the increase in number of vehicle on road which means more fossil fuel is been burnt, that is directly increases the amount of carbon in air causing more pollution, or it can be the continues deforestation, which reduced the number of trees to absorb the carbon and other harmful chemical. The amount of e-waste that is been generated can also cause several environmental problems.

Is imposing the limit of trash to be collected the right solution to the problem. Let's think in these way, if the town imposed a daily limit of only one trash bag to be collected daily with a weight limit of 250gm and on an average a household produces more than 1kg of trash daily, then in these scenario what should be done with the remaining 750 or more grams of waste that the house hold has? Should they just pile up the waste in there basement? Even if such law is imposed such a parameter should be taken into consideration while imposing such laws.

Moving ahead with the discussion, isn't the responsibility of the government authority of each town or city to have proper disposal setup, a recycling plant to handle such type of waste on daily bases. The amount of waste that is generated should be throughly processed, necessary materials like steel, plastic, other metals and recyclables should be seperated out to recycle them and make use products out of it.

In conclusion, I disagree with issue prompt due to the above reasons, the issue stated in the prompt, need to be revised to some extent and key points from the above discussion need to be taken into consideration. There are multiple ways in which environmental problems could be solved or reduced by some extent, or it's not just the consumer generated waste from household, but there are more than one reason.