'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that in order to avoid losing more advetising revenues, the time time allocated to weather and local news should be restore to its former level. Stated in this way the, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which this could be evaluated. The conclusion is based on the premise that the complaints received by TV station are mostly from viewers concerned with the station's weather and local news, also that local business that used to advertise during late night news program are withdrawing their contracts. The reasoning is logically weak, however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author provides information that local businesses have just canceled their advertising deal with the TV station. This is merely an assumption made without solid ground. For example, what if local business decided to cancel their contracts because they can not longer affort the contract fee? What if they feel another means of advertising would be more effective? Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly states that the TV station carry out an established survey, and the local business owners told them they are withdrawing their contracts based on the evidence the author gave.

Finally, the author notes that they received more complaints from weather and local news viewers. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little support for the author's conclusion in several respects and raises several skeptical question. For example, what if the complaints is based on the inaccuracy of the weather and local news? Without convicing answer to this question, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more a wishful thing rather than sunstantive evidence.

In sum, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, must provide clear evidence, perharps by way of a reliable survey.