The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

"Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument concludes that HobCo Should extend to Southeastern Grilldon as their next site for Hobco Hobby Shop as it will draw many enthusiastic new Hobco customers. Stated in this way, the conclusion is based on the premise that hobby business has increased, there are no hobby shop or competitors and there are many retired people in Grilldon. The reasoning of the argument is logically flawed, however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author provides information that there are no hobby shop or competitors currently in Southeastern Grilldon. This is merely an assumption made without solid. For instance, what if there are number of companies planning to set their hobby shop in future, which could affect Hobco performance? Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated that HobCo inc will be the only Company licensed to set Hobby shops in Southeastern Grilldon.

The argument readily cites that 88% of the respondents want hobby shop in Southeastern Grilldon. This again is weak and unsupported claim as the reliability of the poll needs to be established. To illustrate further, how representative can the sample be? If the argument had provided evidence that the poll was unbiased, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author notes that hobby business has increased by 300% during the past decade in the region of the nation where Grilldon is. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects. The author must provide evidence on the localized increase in the hobby business in Grilldon. More so, the argument claims there is a very large population of retirees in Grilldon. This claim would strengthened if the number of retirees is quantified. And if an established survey, showing the percentage of retired people who are enthusiastic about hobby activities, is conducted. Without these evidences, the claim remains weak.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of suitable building sites for Hobco hobby shop in the city of Grilldon. Lastly, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about why no hobby shop can be found currently in Southeastern Grilldon.