Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issues of whether government should allocate more funds to arts as much as they do in the military. Indisputably, arts sector is one of the major sectors that should not be given less attention. Nevertheless, the importance and impact of the armed forces cannot be compare with the art sector. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that arts should be funded like the military and would argue that it should not. To bolster my viewpoint, I would illustrate with examples in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, the military is the protector of the country borders, I would like to point out that without the military the country will be vulnerable to war, illegal smuggling of contraband goods. To illustrate, let us look at the example in 2005 Nigeria government declared the importation of rice as contraband. And the group of men were caught in 2006 smuggling over 1000 bags of rice into the country from Senegal. In this circumstance, obviously without the presence of the military the country it would have been an easy access for the smugglers. Consequently, it is pretty obvious that military should be invested on more than arts.

Admittedly, arts sector is the mother of entertainment in any country. This is true especially when it comes to music, film e.t.c. In addition, this sector helps the depressed to laugh out their depression. However, the above argument does not constitute a sufficient support to claim that it should be funded as much as the military is funded. Because the music or the film industry stars can not protect the country in time of war.

In conclusion, although arts should be invested on but not as much as military. As long as some measurements are performed or some areas are involved military should remain the most invested on in order to be war free.