'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Conversation opened. 1 read message.

Skip to content

Using Gmail with screen readers

Search

Take me to Inbox

Gmail

COMPOSE

Labels

Inbox (922)

Starred

Important

Sent Mail

Drafts (5)

Circles

Notes

Personal

Travel

More labels

Hangouts

More

2 of 1,625

Print all In new window

hi

Inbox

x

shalin shah

Attachments1:23 PM (1 hour ago)

to shahshalin, me

uhhduifw

2 Attachments

Click here to Reply, Reply to all, or Forward

2.31 GB (15%) of 15 GB used

Manage

Terms - Privacy

Last account activity: 44 minutes ago

Details

People (2)

Add to circles

Show details

The arguement presented here has asserted many assumptions with inadequate proofs. Firstly, the business manager has not mentioned the subject of complaints that were received before devoting increased time to national news. There can be a possibility that previously majority of complaints were concerned with their station not covering enough national news. Also, the source of these complaints is not clear. There can be a high possibilty that some locals were more interested in local news than in national news. So, majority of these complaints might have been from the locals, but that does not mean that less people are interested in news related to nation.

Secondly, the cancellation of the contracts by local businesses does not prove that their advertising revenues will go down. It can be understood why the local businesses cancelled their contract. Less coverage of local news would have less local advertisements which would ultimately make their business less broadcasted and hence they may suffer losses. But covering more national news can lure national companies and the television station may sign even more contracts with national companies. Hence, cancellation of the conracts by some local companies, leading to losing advertising revenues is an exhagerrated assumption.

Thirdly, there is no mention of the number of people interested in local news and those interested in national news. Hence, just by the increasing complaints reported by some locals, we cannot come to any conclusion about the number of viewers of the program. There can be a possiblity that same locals repeatedly complained about the national program or the locals who disliked the national program constitute only 10 percent of the total population. All these considerations are absent in the given arguement.

In the end, transforming from broadcasting national news to broadcasting local news would lure more viewers in a misconception. The author has made many assertions without any evident proof. Hence, restoring the time given to weather and local news to its former level would not result in increased number of viewers for the station.