The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the national news contributes to a major chunk of the late-night news program and the weather and local news contribute lesser. The author fails to prove his position lucidly as he doesn't provide enough substantial evidence to justify the restoration of the time devoted to the weather and local news to its former level.

The author mentions that the complaints received from viewers are concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Nature and the type of complaints have not been mentioned by the author which leads to the assumption that either the local news are not effective enough or the weather approximations aren't accurate enough. If these complaints are looked into and addressed immediately then the original time slots can still be maintained.

This can be done by covering the local news that is more important than the ones which are not necessary to be telecast at all. The weather accuracy can also be enhanced by gathering information from more reliable sources for example, directly from the meteorological department of that region.

The cancellation of the advertising contracts by the local businesses and their reasons have also not been clearly stated by the author. This can be because of higher rates of advertisements in the late-night slot than the other slots during the day time. The other reasons might include lower rates for advertisements from other news channels in the same vicinity, advertisements failing to target the right pool of people or issues in the time slot it is being telecast.

There should be surveys conducted in the belonging local area amongst the residents in the radius in which the late-night show is telecast so that a clear reason might be obtained. This might be done before the restoration is implemented.

Even if the restoration of the time belonging to weather and local news to its former level is implemented it is still uncertain that there will be an increase in the number of viewers in the late-night slot and increase in advertising revenue if the root causes and other plausible reasons are failed to address. Hence, the author leaves the readers unconvinced due to the flaws present in the argument.