The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum that appeared at the television station, the author claims that time devoted to weather and local news should be restored to its former time as the television station is losing revenue because of it. He advocates his claim by positing that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news and many advertising companies have canceled their contract. Though the argument at first instance sounds cogent, however, a scrutinizing look reveals its hasty conclusion and lack of evidence to support it.

To begin with, are the complaints about the time devoted to weather and local news or something else? The author hasn't provided any evidence to show that the complaints received from the viewers are related to the time allotted to these segments. The complaints might have been about unconfirmed news being shown on the channel or specific propaganda being fulfilled. The author needs to provide statistics to show that complaints are regarding the time allotted to the segment. however, without such evidence argument, loses its value.

Furthermore, what is the reason behind advertising companies canceling their contracts? The author doesn't provide any evidence to relate canceled contracts with the time devoted to weather and local news. Without such evidence any conclusion is unsustainable. It might be possible that the television station has been involved in a legal inquiry. In this case, no company would like to be affiliated with such station and thus canceling their contracts. Or the company is losing its viewers because of poor content. In both cases, restoring time wouldn't make any difference. The author needs to provide a survey of such advertising companies answering why they terminated their contracts. Without such evidence, the argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument to restore time devoted to weather and local news is flimsy and unwarranted. The author needs to provide evidence for the aforementioned questions to sound more pursuing. however, as it stands the argument is flawed and unwarranted.