"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo that appeared at Super Screen Movie Production Company, the author claims that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget in advertising as their movies have not been able to reach its viewers. He advocates his claim by positing that the number of viewers have decreased from last year even though positive reviews of the movies have increased. Thus concluding that the quality of movies is not the problem. At first instance, his claim sounds very cogent and pursuing, but a scrutinizing look reveals that the author has made some unwarranted assumptions and lacks evidence to support his claim. To make his position stronger he needs to answer three questions.

Firstly, what percentage less people visited movies compared to last year? As it might be possible that a very minute amout of people were decreased from last year which is very common in business as little up's and down's is acceptable. The author needs to provide statistical data about the number of people visited last years vs people visiting this year. Without such evidence and if the above case is true spending more on advertisement can be futile.

Furthermore, how many people rated the movie positively? If only a few 'die-heart' fans rated the movie positively than they don't speak for the entire populous. The author needs to provide evidence to show how many people were surveyed and how many people rated the movies positively compared to negative reviews. Without such evidence making any assumptions is unwarranted.

Moreover, are movies being pirated? As it is possible that though the movie production company is making good movies, the movie gets pirated and is available to the citizens easily. In such case, people will choose to spend a few dollars for the DVD and watch it at home rather than going to cinema theaters. If the above is true it significantly weakens the argument.

In conclusion, the author's argument to spend more on advertisement though is meant for the betterment of the company is flimsy and unwarranted. The author needs to answer the aforementioned questions in order to sound more pursuing. However, as it stands the argument is flawed.