The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night programs has devoted time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, we should restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument of restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is based on certain assumption and is rife with loopholes that argue otherwise.

First the author didn't give any information of the new timings given to the weather and local news or wheather they have stoped showing the weather or local news itself. so we cannot conclude anything here because we dont have any basis of comparison.

Second the author has not given any sort of information about the received complaints. there can be multiple reason for the complaints like, the local news or weather news are not accurate. The content of provided news are incendiary and causing disturbance.

also there can be numerous reason for which news channel is receiving complaints and which has nothing to do with the time of news.

Third author has stated that local businesses that used to advertise during late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts but author has not given any reason for the cancellation. Of all we know advertising contracts have been cancelled because of hike in charges or some other provider is providing better services to advertiser. Maybe there is increase in competion which leads to cancellation of advertising contracts.

Many news channel devote more time to the section which gets them higher viewership and in doing this also they maintain balance between local, national and weather news.

also we know that for every channel there is a prime time when they received maximum viewership and as national news is more important than local and weather news it is valid for news channel to devote more time to that.

but we cannot assume this alone as a reason to support the argument because channel can handle this situation by alloting some other different time for local and weather news.

Thus the argument is vague and fails to provide and substantial support to its conclusion due to lack of information and lack in logical reasoning and because the argument several unwarranted assuption it fails to convince the case that we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.