The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, based on some reasons author is recommending that time devoted to weather and local news should be increased. Although, at first glance argument might seem convincing, there are many flaws and assumptions made in the argument. Which are as follows:

First assumption is made here is that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. Here, what complaints were registered about the coverage should be taken into consideration. It is possible that people might have complained about the inaccuracy of weather and local news, but they still want to watch national news rather than weather and local news, which will weaken the argument. Otherwise, if the complaints are for the timing of weather and local news, then it would strengthen the argument. So, evidence of type of complaints should be taken into consideration.

Second, in the argument it is mentioned that most of the complaints were concerned with weather and local news. So here evidence of the number of complaint is required. If the number is very less, say for example 10, then most of the complaints might mean 6 to 8, which is not a significant number to decide anything, which will weaken the argument. If the number of complaints were high (say 500-600), then they should take some action for this, which would strengthen the argument.

Third, the assumption made here is that loss of advertise from local business is significant. Here, evidence of profit from the advertise of local business should be taken into consideration. If it contributes very less part of the total advertisement revenue, then they can ignore the loss of that local business, which will weaken the argument. But, if the revenue from that local business advertise is high then they should take some action, which will strengthen the argument. So, evidence for the revenue from that local business advertise should be taken into consideration before taking any further action.

In summary, only the complaints received from the viewers and loss of local business advertise would not suffice to take any decision. In addition, number of complaints made, type of complaints and the percentage of revenue from local business advertise should be taken into consideration for the argument to be valid.