The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company in his memo claims that the decrease in the number of people attending Super Screen produced movie is due to lack of proper advertisements of the movies and proposes that the budget for the same should be increased next year to ensure that more viewers attend the movies. Although it seems logical that increase in advertisements will increase movie viewers, the advertising director has overlooked numerous conspicuous questions and made numerous fallacious assumptions in making the decision.

The director has not provided any statistics to indicate the rate of decline in viewership. He has assumed that the decline is due to flaws in the promotion of the movies. However, several other reasons such as a decline in economic conditions, poor state of theatres in the country, availability of movies online free of cost, etc. may have led to the decline. Also, the author needs to provide evidence that the decline in viewership did not occur for movies in general and was specific for movies produced by Super Screen. Unless these questions are answered, it would be fallacious to assume that increasing advertisements will increase movie attendance by viewers.

Secondly, the author has assumed that audience visit movies based on reviews provided by the movie reviewers. It is possible that the movies produced by Super Screen are intense films which are highly appreciated by movie critics but not the general audience who favor watching comedies, romantic movies, family drama or animations. The director should take into consideration the type of movies the audience want to view and compare it to the movies being produced by Super Screen. If the genres of the movies are different, then increasing the advertisements in promoting the movies will not have the desired effects.

Lastly, if it turns out that the economy of the country has not declined and the movies produced by Super Screen interests the audience, one has to look deep into the advertising policy and medium used by the company. Do the advertisements use variety of media – television, newspaper, website, radio etc.? If the promotion of the movies is done by only one form of media, which does not reach the target audience, the form of media used should be changed rather than increasing the budget for promotion. Also, are the advertisements reaching the target audience? If the timing of the promotions is slack, it should be improved such that the target audience come to know about the new movies. Unless a survey is done to answer these question, merely increasing the budget for advertisement will not have the desired effect of increasing audience for Super Screen produced movies.

Though increasing advertisements to promote a movie does seem a good idea, unless the questions raised above are answered cogently, the recommendation of the advertising director for increasing movie audience is not likely to be efficacious. The author needs to provide cogent answers to the questions with dispassionate surveys to support his claim that increasing advertisements for the movies will increase the viewership of movies.