It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

While some people argue that it is important for students to understand ideas and concepts, others think that it is important for them to learn facts. There are certain subjects which are concept based while others are fact based. The student should use one’s own discretion to separate these two types of subjects. While it is important to understand the concepts and ideas in certain subjects, to excel in others one must learn the facts. Therefore, I believe that students should both understand ideas and concepts and learn facts depending upon the subject one is studying. I would like to elaborate with a few examples.

In any science subject such as mathematics, physics, chemistry or biology, it is very important that a student understands the concept of any particular topic that he or she is studying. If a student can understand the essence of the topic, it will help one solve any problem that utilizes the concept of the topic. The student will also be able to solve complex problems that covers ideas from multiple topics if he or she understands the concepts of the topics. This has a two-fold impact. Not only will this enable the students to understand the subject better, it will also enhance the analytical power of the student, which in the long run will enable them to develop as better professionals, no matter what they do.

Similarly, take the example of any language. It is important that the student understands the concept and ideas of grammar that is an integral part of the language they are learning. If this concept is clear, then the student will be able to read, write and understand what others are trying to communicate using any particular language.

Thus we see that to excel in certain subjects it is necessary to understand the ideas and concepts of the subjects that are their founding stones. On the other hand, there are subjects like history are fact based. History tells us the when, what, how and why about a civilization. It is a fact and students needs to learn them and take examples from them to understand how similar events can alter their own life. This will ensure that when time comes, one will be able to take the right decision for oneself.

A subject which sees the amalgamation of concept and facts is probably medicine. For a medical student, it is important that the he or she, understands the concept of human physiology so that the patient can get the best treatment from them once they become medical practitioners. At the same time, the doctor needs to remember facts that he or she learned as a student, to enable him or her to diagnose the disease a patient is suffering from, once the medical tests of a patient is available.

Thus it is clear that to excel in life a student must both understanding the concepts and ideas and learn facts, depending upon the subject that is of interest and depending upon the career that they want to pursue in the future.