A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author is of the opinion that the new Captain Seafood restaurant which specializes in seafood will be very popular and profitable in Bay City. This conclusion is made on certain arguments which are based on certain presumptions. Unless these assumptions are validated with proper data the desired effect will not be observed.

The author cites a recent sales study to indicate that there has been a 30% increase in the consumption of seafood in the last five years in Bay City and since currently no restaurants specialize in seafood in the area Captain Seafood should be doing good business. This conclusion has many fallacies. The author has not compared the quality and price of the food served in the already existing restaurants and Captain Seafood. Also, there is no mention of the geographical location of Captain Seafood. Is the new restaurant close to the city center? Is it easily commutable? Are there enough parking places? Is the location safe? Unless these questions are answered, it would be erroneous to assume that Captain Seafood will have a good business.

In supporting his cause, the author has also assumed that the 30% increase is solely due to Bay City residents. There may be other causes for this increase. It is possible that Bay City is a tourist spot and number of vacationers have increased in the same tenure of five years and they prefer seafood. If such is the case, then the customers are not returning customers and as the tourist season varies or tourist taste changes this trend will also change.

The author should also consider the fact being a specialty restaurant Captain Seafood serves only one type of food. Hence people who visit restaurants in groups and have non seafood lovers in their party are likely to avoid the restaurant. They are more likely to visit restaurants that serve a variety of menu from which all group members can choose a meal. To support his statement that Captain Seafood will be popular, the author should do a more rigorous survey on restaurant visiting groups and people. The survey should consider group size and types of cuisines the people of a party prefer.

The author then has extrapolated a nationwide finding to Bay City which states that two income families are likely to eat less home-made food and would refer eating healthy food outside. However, in doing so the author has not provided and proof to validate his assumption. A trend which is seen nationwide may not be necessarily replicated in Bay City. The author should provide poll results which show that Bay City residents are likely to eat outside more. Moreover, the author writes that “majority” of families in Bay City are two income families. ‘Majority’ is a vague term and the author should provide statistics to prove his claim. Unless proper statistical figures and survey results are used to augment the author claim, it is difficult to agree with the author that Captain Seafood will have a profitable business in Bay City.

Lastly, even if it is assumed that the 30% increase is solely due to Bay City residents and the nationwide survey results will be replicated in Bay City, one cannot ignore the fact that eating seafood on a regular basis from restaurants is not healthy. Bay City residents may have health issues that prevents them for eating seafood regularly. If such be the case, Captain Seafood will not be very profitable.

I find it difficult to agree with the conclusion the author has made based on the arguments he/she has provided to support the claim. Unless the concerns raised above are answered using unbiased polls, surveys and statistics I do not agree with the author’s claim that Captain Seafood will have a popular and profitable business in Bay City.