It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

The given argument is about the importance of concepts and ideas over the importance of learning the facts. In my opinion, I will totally agree over the given argument. My explanation to it is pre-dominantly based on three main reasons.

Firstly, going by the definition of a fact - "it is a statement that is based upon logical evidence and scientific thesis". The definition of an idea could be - "a statement that is asserted of being novel and that does not break the laws of nature". Now, science clearly says that facts are the basis of new findings. But it is also quite evident that all of the facts of this universe are not known to mankind. It's the innovation that drive people in finding the unknown facts of this world. And "ideas" play an instrumental role in it. For an example, if humans thought, that we cannot escape gravity, We wouldn't have explored space. But in this world, we are now able to land on moon surfaces and far along. This shows that students or even people, for that matter shouldn't stay limited by the constraints of the amount of facts they have.

Secondly, students need to understand the importance of a particular concept in order to understand the actual meaning and the logic behind a particular task. A statement without its legitimate proof would make it impossible for students to think out of the box- and look for new ways, that could potentially give birth to new facts and testimonials. For an instance, let's take an example of our ancestors. They used to believe that the earth is flat and decimated anyone who would go against this opinion. Scientist then had legible proof to state the this 'fact' is wrong on the basis of evidence that even modern science cannot argue upon. Had we been limited to only the fact, we would still have lived under the illusion that earth is a flat planet. Such facts need to checked and corrected frequently. This makes the importance of strong concepts more important over mere facts and rules.

Finally, one major way in which facts by themselves are secondary in importance to ideas and concepts is that they won't hold any ground if there is no valid evidence behind it. What I mean to say is, facts are generated on the basis of sound evidence and rational logic. Simply stating a random fact without is substantial proof is just like eating an ice-cream without a cone! Let's say teachers tell students only about a fact that when two bodies collide they breakup momentum. Now if students try to emulate such experiments in real life, they won't be able to understand that why are the rest of the effects of a collision happening, since they only know that "only momentum ceases". This would make their minds rigid and incapable of trying out new experiments. This would effect later when scientific research and innovation are regressed by lack of thinking of new possiblities.

Hence, on the basis of the points stated above, I think there is some plausible evidence to speak in favor of precedence of strong concepts over facts.Because as the saying goes, "Necessity is the mother of invention", similarly, "Facts are the by-products of innovation and imagination."