The following appeared in a business magazine.

"As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author of the article that appeared in a business magazine suggest that the numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea made by consumers of Promofoods tuna are not related to any chemicals that are found in the canned tuna and the same did not pose a health risk. However, the conclusion made by the author is based on numerous assumptions without any proof to support them. Before the author can make such a conclusion he needs to provide cogent unbiased proofs to bolster his claim.

The author makes his conclusion based on the chemical analysis performed by the chemists of Promofoods, who did not find any chemicals that can lead to dizziness and nausea, after testing the canned tuna produced by Promofoods. There are however numerous questions which the author has neglected such as - Do the tested cans belong to the same batch regarding which the consumers complained? Were the cans collected from the same place from where the complains were received? Are the chemical analysis conducted by the company chemists unbiased? Are the techniques used to analyze the canned food full proof? Unless the author provides disinterested proof to indicate that the tested cans belonged to the same batch and were collected from the same place that registered complaints about the food and tests conducted were not doctored the conclusion seems to be fallacious. Also, the company needs to get the canned food tested from outside chemists and the author needs provide documents to show that the results obtained corroborates the conclusion of tested performed by the company chemists

If we do consider that the testing conditions were unbiased, the author needs to provide further information on the amount of the three suspected contents found in the cans. Is the amount found in the cans within the limits that are permitted by the food department? Or are they above the allowed limit and are causing health issues? What other canned products contain these chemicals and in what amounts? Do people consuming such canned food complain about similar health issues? Unless the author answers these questions it is erroneous to dismiss the fact that these three chemicals are not the reason for the health issue faced by the consumers.

Lastly, the author states that the chemists had only tested for eight chemicals that cause dizziness and nausea, however there might be other chemicals responsible for the health issues which are present in the canned food. Since the food was not tested for these chemicals it is not possible to eliminate the fact that such chemicals might be present in the food. Unless the food is tested for such chemicals the conclusion that the canned food is not hazardous to health is dubious.

Under the given circumstances, the conclusion of the author is presumptive and difficult to agree with. To bolster his conclusion, the author needs to provide cogent proof indicating that the test results were unbiased and authentic. He should provide answers to the questions raised above to underscore his conclusion.