The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the editor of an environmental magazine, the author of the article erroneous suggests that the decline in the number of amphibian species and the decline in population of the number of amphibians of each species in Xanadu National Park is due to the introduction of amphibian egg eating trout rather than global pollution of water and air. However, the author has failed to provide cogent support for the argument provided.

The first question that the author needs to answer to support his conclusion is what were the various amphibian species than existed in Xanadu in 1975 and now. Also, he needs to clarify what type of amphibian eggs trout devour. If it is seen that the types of eggs eaten by trout were not available in Xanadu, the argument provided by the author will be flawed. Also, if trout introduction in 1975 played a major role in depleting the amphibian population of Xanadu, a steady decline in the population should be discernible in a year wise documentation of amphibian population. To bolster the claim made, the author should provide such a report.

The author has concluded that though the declining atmospheric conditions are responsible for decreasing amphibian population worldwide, it has no role to play in Xanadu. In doing so, the author has made the assumption that over the years the atmospheric conditions of Xanadu have not changed. However, the author has not provided any documentation to support his assumption. To strengthen his argument, the author should provide a detailed report showing that the environmental conditions in Xanadu has not deteriorated over the years. Unless such a proof it available it would be presumptive to relegate the role of environmental factors in decreasing the amphibian population.

Additionally, the author should cite the example what are the changes in amphibian population of other national parks where the atmospheric conditions have not changed drastically over the years and also no trout was introduced. In such parks, the amphibian population should not deplete drastically. This will underscore the conclusion made by the author that the introduction of trout is solely responsible for the decline in amphibian population.

Lastly, there may be numerous other reasons for the decline in amphibian population such as loss of habitat, scarcity of food, predation by other animals in the park, death by natural cause such as old age, inability to breed, loss of breeding partners etc. Unless the author negates either of these causes as a possible reason for the decline in amphibian population it would be presumptuous to blame the introduction of trout as the sole reason for the decline.

Therefore, to conclude unless the author gives evidence to show that the environmental conditions of Xanadu has not changed over the years and amphibian eggs eaten by trout were present in Xanadu, it would be fallacious to rule out atmospheric pollution as a probable cause of decline in amphibian population and solely relate it to the introduction of trout in Xanadu.