The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night programs has devoted time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, we should restore time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author cites that late night news program has devoted increased time to national news over the weather and local news. This is a good thing as more people will come to know about what is happening in the country. A resident of the country should have erudite knowledge of the nation.

Over the past years, most of the complaints received were concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news. The business manager has not properly mentioned the concerns of the viewers. The complaints may be regarding the improper weather news from the television station. The news which is shown on the television might not guve the accurate news which the residents desired. The complaints can be regarding the reporters who are covering the weather and local news. The reporters may be naive to show the news in a prudent manner. The number of complaints received is not given. The number may be hundred, thousand, etc.

The manager has told that local businesses have rescind their advertising contracts with the television station. I will agree with this point to a certain extent. It might happen that they have canceled their contracts due to increased time of national news than local news. Another reason might be that television station has increased their advertising amount which is not within the budget of the local people. One more reason may be that more number of people do not watch the late night news program. This is a superfluos wastage of money with respect to advertising.

The business manager tends to restore the timing devoted to local and weather news to its former level to avoid losing any further advertising revenues. He or she is right to certain extent that some more time should be devoted to local news but other factors should also be consider while restoring the amount of time or rather changing the time of telecast of the news. The judging commitee should consider the details of the complaints received and find out the reason behind the rescinding of advertising contracts by local business. They should do a survey among the resident of the local people and find out the exact reason behind their deteriorating channel rating and then take measures to restore the channel ratings.