People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author's claim about people who make decision based on emotion and then justify those decision with logic are poor decision makers is viable to a certain extent. It may hold true in some places while false in other places. In today's world, people who thinks on an intellectual level than being emotional at the time of decision making have greater chance of success.

People who are nonplussed about what to do in certain situation sometimes thinks on a emotional level. They tend to listen to their heart rather than brain and then to give justification, they start making logic which made them to take the particular decision. This can harnessed the situation rather than alleviating it. People who thinks intellectually seek to gather all the pros and cons while making any decision. Let us consider the example of trust who give education loan to the students. If a children who have better financial stability beg for sanctioning of larger amount of fees and being emotional, they sanction the money to that student which is greater when compared to the amount sanctioned to the students who is indigent. This is not fair on side of that indigent child and is regarded as a poor decision. If that trust have thought on pragmatic level rather than being emotional, then the decision would have been better.

The author's claim might not hold true when it come to the politics. Here, the candidate has to take some decision considering the emotions of the residents of his or her area. At the time of the elections, the candidate has to think of the emotions of the citizen rather than being intellectual in order to win the election. Many residents desires to have their problems solved first. In order to lure the people towards him or her, they opt for the emotional decision and then they show to other people on what basis the it was made. They try to make logic towards that decision and claims about how beneficial the decision will be.

In sum, people should make decision based on the requirement of the situation. They should be aboveboard on their part rather that creating some faulty logic around it. This will help them to alleviate their decision making power.