An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The International Development Organization wants to engineered a new breed of millet which has high proportion of Vitamin A. Here,it is not mentioned the reason behind the deficiency of the vitamin A in Tagus. The organization should found the core reason behind the deficiency of Vitamin A. There may be various reason behind the deficiency. There may be paucity of the foods which are highly rich in vitamin A.

In the second prong, the organization tells us that cost of the new millet is more comparatively and government should give subsidies for farming the new variety of Millet. Did the new variety of Millet with same Vitamin content cannot be grown by alternative means? There may be alternative for this which will reduce the cost of the new Millet to have benefits on both side that is for government as well as farmers. The committee should search for other alternatives to abhor the level of deficiency in the nation.

Millet being a staple food in Tagus, it does not mean that people will accept the new variety. The new variety may differ in various things from old variety such as taste, size, etc. Those people who disliked the taste of new variety will abstain from using Millet and this is not going to solve the problem. A sample should be distributed to the residents of Tagus and review should be taken about it and after the necessary changes, it should be adopted. Since the price of new Millet will be high, it will be difficult for the farmers to do farming and to eschew this problem, the government have to provide subsidies to the farmers. This will led the government to collect funds to provide subsidies. The government have to take various measures to raise the funds for the new variety of Millet.

If Millet being the only way with which this deficiency can be combated, then government should do everything to promote this product. Before this, the government should be cent percent sure about the product and then do the necessary awareness campaign to spread awareness.

In sum, I would like to conclude by saying that government should find the core reason behind the deficiency. They should also find the alternative to the new product and help the citizen to combat the deficiency.