The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company does not show the proper reasoning for the decline in the public watching their movies. There are many other reasons which are unstated in the memo which needed to be clear before taking any decision.

The report from the marketing department says that fewer people have attended Super Screen produced movies in the past year when compared to any other year. The reason for the decline in the number of viewers had not been cearly mentioned. There may be number of reason for the decline in the number. The release date for the movie may not be suitably choosen or the time on which the movie is telecasted in Multiplex theatres may not be peoper. Generally, viewers may not found the timing of movie suitable with their schedule. The marketing department should look at the other reason for the company to come to any conclusion.

The memo shows that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers have increased during the past year. Here, it is not shown the number of movies released during the past when compared to other years. It may happen that Super Screen has produced only one movie in the past year which has got positive reviews leading to increase in percentage of positive reviews. Also, the reviewers who have given positive reviews may not seem legitimate to the audience. In general, people follow one or two critics only which have given legitimate review. Getting positive reviews form unlegitimate reviewers doesn't lure the people to watch movies. The company should focus on the legitimate reviewers who are followed by viewers to increase their viewer number.

As said by the director, the problem is with the public lack of awareness about good movies and they should allocate a greater share of its budget in the coming year to reach more public through advertising. If the contents of the movie is good, it doesn't require large amount of advertising. Good movies always have a demand in the society and viewers can find time to watch this movies. The company should look for legitimate critics to review the quality of movies and find the other necessary reasons.

In sum, this memo has many unstated question which needs to be answered before taking any decisions. The advertising director should find other reasons to compel the committee to take any decision for increasing the viewer number.