The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article shown in the business magazine have many flaws and many unstated question are there which are required to be answered before taking any decision regarding the hiring of the people.

The study rating has considered only "sleep hours of executives" as a factor for the success of the business. Clearly, number of sleep hours cannot be considered as a factor for the executives to be more intellectual and brilliant. Many other factors such as presence of mind, wittiness, etc plays a major role in the prosperity of the business. A person's decision during the most crucial time marks the success of his firms and to make such decision, it is necessary to be fresh and free of stress. Clearly, the company should consider various other factors to come to any conclusion.

According to the study, the have rated 300 executives according to the number of hours they sleep per night. The possibility of major number of successful executives sleeping less than 6 hours cannot be concluded by 300 ratings. The company's growth depends on several other factors then their executives number of sleep hour. A company becomes successful by the cooperation of its employees and the passion with which they work within the company. Higher profit margins and faster growth clearly comes out with the unique decision power of the executives of the company.

A report by WHO says that around 8 hours of sleep is required for the human brain to be fresh and lively. So, it doesn't depend on the number of hours but the mindset with which they works. According to the article, to prosper a business, it should hire people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night. The IQ level varies from person to person and it should be considered as the major factor for the success of the business.

In sum, the report does not answer many unstated question and it should consider various other factor other than sleep hours per night for the executives. They should do a survey of the executives and ask them to rate themselves on major factor or by the highest authority in the business and then the business magazine should come to any conclusion regarding the success of their firms by executive's status.