One increasingly popular policy for promoting renewable energy is a feed-in tariff. Under such a policy, investors on any scale, from large corporations to individual homeowners, produce their own energy from solar panels installed on their property. Electricity companies are then required to purchase the energy through a long-term contract at an increased rate that would allow the investors to more than offset the cost over time. There is no denying that the initial cost of solar installation would be a burden on the investor. In strenuous economic times, both businesses and homeowners might be reluctant to make the investment, with concern that the payout could be less than sufficient or the plan might prove unfeasible. However, research has shown that a feed-in tariff plan is not only stable but also exceptionally effective, and ought to be more actively pursued.

The argument promotes the use of renewable energy in the form of feed-in tariff. The author have considered various assumption which has led to unstated questions which needed to be answered to promote such policies.

Solar energy is a renewable form of energy with sun being the source but a expensive source of energy. The author has not mentioned here the amount of solar energy can be generated with the individual solar panel. To lit a home with two bedrooms, three to four solar panels are required. Now to supply solar energy to electric companies, the number of solar panels which needs to be installed is not known. The investors should first make a note of the amount of solar energy which can be generated from an individual solar panel.

In the above paragraph, it is mentioned that solar energy generated from the individual solar panel needs to be measured. As sun being the source of solar energy, the light varies every day. On one day, it will be sunny whereas on other day, it will not. This doesn't guarantee the amount of electricity which can be generated in a day and make solar energy the germane source.

It is said that Electricity companies have to purchase the energy at a higher cost than the usual cost they bear from other source of energy. There will be an increased cost of electricity per watt to the residents of the city. This will alter their household budget and affect the life of the people in a way that they have to redo the math to sustain on such high cost of electricity. It will not make difference for the rich people but will affect the life of the indigent people. Any policy which is to implemented should give residents the top priority.

The author shows the result of the research showing the effectiveness of the solar energy although due to high the cost of installations, people will be skeptical to invest in such a thing. This is true that everyone wants to get return og investments as soon as possible. If there will be less use of electricity due to the increased cost of electricity, the return of investment will take longer time making a bad investments for the investors.

In sum, the author should considerother effects of implementing such policy and also do a research on other forms of renewable source of energy which are comparitively cheaper. They should also do a survey among the people whether they will be ready to pay higher cost of electricity. This argument fails to convince for implementing the abovementioned policy.