A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The author states that a nation should make the same national curriculum for students until they enter college.It is true that all students should learn same things through out the country which will give them better insights of the nation but on the other hand, it will also hinder the individuality of the states within a nation.

If same national curriculum is imposed on the students, then designing of the national curriculum will be difficult. One cannot include every prospects of the country and history of the individual states during the school years. Let us consider the example of laws of the country. If it is imposed that all students should learn same things, then the laws which are imposed at the national level can be taught to the students but the laws which are imposed at the state level cannot be taught to the students. Every state will have their own laws and it is not cardinal for students to learn laws of other states rather than their own state.

Consider the example of states in India having their own native language. Their is no fundamental need for a student living in TamilNadu (a state of India having Tamil as their native language) to learn Marathi (native language of Maharashtra, a state of India). This cannot be implied at a national level to the students. At the national level, only English and Hindi can be taught to the students. This will eschew the students to learn their native language on a whole.

Every state has its own cultural heritage and the state government would want to make their student learn about their cultural heritage. Here, a nation cannot include the cultural heritage of every state in their curriculum. It will be too hectic for the students to know all these things at a small age. This makes too difficult for the nation to make the student to study the same national curriculum till their school years.

I would like to conclude by saying that a nation should imposed some part of student's curriculum at a national level to teach them which are necessary for all students to learn at a national level. States should be given the liberty to decide the remaining part of student's curriculum to maintain the individuality of the states.