The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the memorandum, its implied that,the complaints received from the viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. It however, does not throw any light on whether the concerns were due to the paucity in the amount of the content covered or is it the content itself, which is not appealing to the viewers. We cannot condone the fact that, there might have been a deterioration in the quality of the local or weather news that is being reported now, as compared to their previous coverage.

If this is true, restoration of the local and weather news coverage to its formal level would not yeild the results yearned for, by the business manager. Since now, it would mean more coverage of low-quality content, which would highly affect the viewership, there by, affecting the local business advertising contracts as well. This might even exacerbate the whole situation and might recoil in erratic ways. Since from the argument its evident that, its a late-night news program, the withdrawal of advertisement contracts by the local businesses might in the first place,no way be related to content being covered in the channel, but simply be an unpropituous time for advertising. Since their efforts in advertising might not reach majority of the population, it might just be cost-cutting step they have taken. Taking all these factors into consideration, it would be a step taken in haste to restore the local and weather news to former level, which might welcome unforeseen problems throwing the channel into deeper web of problems. It thus calls for a rigorous analysis of the situation, and careful steps to restore the viewership.