The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

While it seems logical for the news station to take a step where they might want to switch back to the former time devoted to weather and local news, there are certain points that still need clarification.

It says that the local businesses that used to advertise during the late night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. And in order to avoid losing further advertising revenues, they want to increase the time for local news. However, it doesn't give any more detail on that. What if the local businesses have simply started advertising their businesses in programs aired during daytime or evening? Maybe, they realised that the frequency of program viewers is more during evening/daytime and thus to gain more popularity they have started advertising in daytime/evening rather than this late night news program. This situation slightly weakens the argument that restoring the time for local news would avoid losing advertising revenues.

Second, the idea of gaining more viewers sounds a little absurd since it is not written anywhere that the program lost any of it's former viewers. It simply states that the viewers complained about the coverage of local news and weather. So it can be assumed that the same number of people are still watching the news program. In that case, restoring the time devoted to local news would not change anything, simply because the number of viewers haven't changed in the past year.

It is also not clear whether the television station is a local or a national television station. If it is found to be latter, the chances of increasing its viewers lie in increasing the amount of national news. It could simply be that that business manager of this television station focuses on a particular area and not complete broadcasting range of the station. So, unless we are sure that the television station is local or national, any step taken towards restoring its time to local news and weather could prove to be futile.