A Nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter the college.

While I strongly believe that a certain level of education is necessary for each and every student, rather person, of a country, restricting the students to the same curriculum just might not be the best thing to do so. A student is most vulnerable and influential in adolescence. This is the time when they possibly learn about their interests and passions, which, without doubt, may vary according to one's capabilities or surroundings. But in that case, forcing all of them to follow the same curriculum not only presents danger of some of the students falling out of their interests, it also divests a nation of their probable future stars. I will explain about this in below examples.

Suppose, a student is more inclined towards Physical Education, or Sports as many might call it, and intends to follow her passion in Gymnastics because she has supple and graceful movements. However, her inclination might or might not flourish based on the fact how much this forced curriculum subsumes Physical Education or more specifically, Gymnastics. If the student's family is not self-sufficient to provide for the Physical Education, then the only means that remain for her to become proficient in this field is to rely on schools, which strictly follow a national curriculum. If the curriculum does not have any scope of Physical Education, she can only choose to follow her dreams once she reaches college. However, as one might be aware of, the flexibility of body reduces drastically, as one ages. She might not be that supple and graceful as she was a few years ago. Ultimately, she might not even get a chance to follow her childhood dream. This brings us to the point, should there be flexibility in the school curriculum?

While a certain amount of courses will always remain to be in the school curriculum, based on the past data and observations, I believe, schools should have freedom in choosing courses based on inclinations of students, that study there. A lot of students might be musical prodigy, but might never get a chance to flourish their skills unless they practice on it. While an affluent society will have private tutors, ready to teach their kids by charging money, not every household can afford this. This brings us to the point that as a nation, it is government's responsibility to cultivate and harbour its young talents.

And anyway, if everyone follows the same curriculum, chances are that in future, we will see so much competition among future students applying for college with same sets of skill or competencies, that some of them might not even make it to their desired college. This will be a travesty of the complete education system, which although, invisible today, might be quite prominent in the future.

To conclude, it, I believe, there should always be a scope of freedom for a student to select their curriculum. While we can generalize, lets say 70% of the subjects, rest 30% should be a children's choice, or of someone that holds the foresightedness to guide them, like their very teachers.