The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

We learn in the above letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine that, the nation should invest in more unmanned space flight. We are asked to subscribe to the notion that since recent unmanned space probes and satellites have proved too successful in gathering information without the cost and risk associated with sending humans into space. To better evaluate this argument, additional evidence is needed that supports the assumptions associated with the conclusion.

The writer here states that manned space flight missions are much more costly and prone to dangers and risks as compared to unmanned flights. The writer here assumes that the objective of the space flights of the manned and unmanned missions are the same. As this is the case then the writer can compare the results of these missions and compare for the better. But since the writer has not provided enough information about such case, the possibility is that the manned and unmanned space flights had different objectives, such as manned space flights objectives were for the maintenance to the satellites wherewith the robots in an unmanned space flight this maintenance is not possible with the current technology available or be very costly as compared to the manned missions. Another possibility is that perhaps the there are some task to be carried in the space or on moon or another planet which includes handling of critical components and experiment with it and which cannot be trusted to be done by a robot as there is possibility of the whole mission to be a fail which may ultimatley lead to loss of myraid amount of resources incested in the mission. If both these cases prove to be true the writer's claim stands unwarrented and his recommendations is not persuasive.

The writer supports its conclusion on the base that with the recent success of series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated to be useful in collecting information without the cost and risk associated with sending humans to space. There is not enough information provided by the writer that helps of the overall cost of the manned and unmanned space flights for the same role of collecting the information, as it would help us analyze the facts and compare the risk and the cost involved during these space flights. Maybe, the intial research cost and production cost of these probes and satellites be much higher than the total cost to send humans to space. Also, there is not a clear indication as to which risk is here writer talking about, maybe the failure of these high-cost probes and satellites can cause the overall failure of the mission and prove fatal.

In conclusion, while the evidence cited in this argument does provide initial reasons to believe that unmanned space missions are more beneficial, the argument's conclusion rests on other assumptions -namely, that writer is comparing the overall same objective of the manned and unmanned space flights to claim that manned flights are costly and dangerous, and also on what overall cost and risk factor upon which the writer bases its conclusion with the recent success of unmanned space flights.