The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarrant

In the memorandum, the president of Humana University concludes that Humana University should have installed online degree programs to enhance the student's enrollment and solve their budget scarcity. He comes to this conclusion based on a comparison with nearby Omni University. while the assertion from the president might prove true, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that hinder its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the stagnant enrollment of Humana University prevails in the upcoming years, but this might not be the case. Perhaps the residents of nearby Humana University would face economic hardship in the past years, now their conditions are improving. In addition, in the past three years, there might be very few young people and now, many residents, who have young children are shifted to these areas. If either scenario above proves true, then the author's argument that Humana University should go in online does not hold water.

Moreover, the president of Humana university presumes, without justification, that the demographic characteristics are the same in both Omni University and Humana University regions. However, this might not be true. For example, the residents of Omni University might do jobs and study simultaneously. Therefore, The online degree program might convenient for them. This might not be the case of Humana University residents. Furthermore, the financial condition of two areas people might be different. To participate in the online class, it is required to have the electronic device and Omni University participants might have better economic conditions than that of human University students. If the above factors are true, then the author's contention is considerably hampered.

The author supposes that Omni University able to reduce its infrastructural expenditure because of undertaking the online programs, but this might not be true. Perhaps, Omni University might do their development works three years ago, so they need not do so in the last years. Because infrastructural development only needs to do after five or more years. In addition, there might be many costs involved in taking the internet-based classes, for instance, purchasing the internet, laptop, microphone, training arrangement for teachers, etc. The authority of Humana university fails to consider the above issues, hence their assumptions are questionable.

In conclusion, the writer may be correct in predicting that the online degree program will help to increase student enrollment at Humana University and diminish the cost. However, the prediction rests on three unwarranted assumptions that dramatically hinder its validity.