The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a significant

The argument states that, to increase enrollment and amend budget deficits at Humana University president offer a memorandum to initiate and actively promote online degree promotion like another university name Omni because their enrollment in online degree increased by 50 percent and they cut expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. Stated in this way, the argument fails to consider many important factors on which it could be evaluated. The conclusion based on assumptions that is depends on incomplete evidence. Therefore, the argument is flawed, incomplete and unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument claims that, Omni University increased their enrollment 50 percent via online. The statement is not whole, because it fails to present others factors such as, their previous student’s number, their promoting strategy to indulge students. For instance, a business firm said they have better relevance in online marketing because their large number of subscribers, but later found their statement is flawed because they had done forgery and pirated others firm information. The statement could have been relevant, if it would provide Omni University previous records regarding their number of students and also their way of attracting students in online.

Secondly, the argument assumes that, Omni University significantly decreases their deficits regarding dormitory and classroom space. This point is not convincing because it only states they cut deficits but they did not provide their previous cost and classroom space data. For example, a university states that, they have huge impacts in country’s research because they had published 50 percent articles in the countries alone. Later found, their statement is nugatory in considering with their number of faculty. This point might have been convincing, if they provide Omni University previous statistics regarding their cost and classroom space and then they could have been relevant for Humana University to follow.

Thirdly, the argument also claims that, enrollment in Humana University over the past three years have been decreased, so they have to follow Omni University to increase their enrollment. This statement is incomplete because it did not provide others factors, such Humana University geological position, their state population. If they are in island surrounded and their population is less, then this policy to follow Omni University would not be appropriated. This statement might have been strengthened, if they provide in details of Humana University.

Posing several questions in readers mind and failed to elicit convincing statement, the argument left one to think the author is not a discreet in his / her choice. Then the argument is incomplete, flawed, unconvincing to meet standard argument criteria and also failed to attract attention to a discreet reader.