The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

The author concludes that by initiating and actively promoting online degree programs, Humana University will be able to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits. Stated in this way, the argument fails to provide several key factors, on the basis it could be evaluated. To justify the argument, the author reasons that Humana University will experience similar outcome with online programs as Omni University. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the author concludes that increased enrollment in online degree programs in Omni University have resulted in significant decrease in expenditure for dormitory and classroom space. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, the increase in enrollment in online degree program does not translate into decrease in enrollment in regular programs. In such case, the number of enrollment of students would not necessarily relate to the decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. Other factors such as lower supply of dormitory and classroom furniture would have contributed in reduction in the costs. Hence the argument would have been stronger if the author had explicitly stated an analysis between increased number in online students and decrease in Omni’s expenditure.

The author readily assumes that online degree programs in Humana University will experience the same success as the Omni University. This again is a weak and unsupported claim and does not demonstrate a clear correlation between Humana University’s online degree program and the enrollment number. To illustrate further, it is not clear that online program will be able to increase enrollment ratio. If the past three years the enrollment ratio has suffered, it may be because the quality of the school has decreased. In such case, the students will not necessarily enroll in Humana University even if the online degree was offered. If the argument had provided specific evidence that there is an abundant student demand of the online degree programs, the author’s claim would have been a lot more convincing.

Finally, the author cites that increased enrollment in online program will solve the budget deficit program of Humana University. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it does not provide credible support for the author’s conclusion in several critical respects and raises several skeptical questions. For example, will online degree programs’ tuition be similar to the current tuition? Would other cost incur in order to initiate online program which may result in even greater deficit? Is the deficit mainly due to increased maintenance costs? If the budget deficit is mainly due to increased salaries for the professors, the argument will not be warranted. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with an impression that the argument made by the author is more of a wishful thinking rather than a substantiated evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide more clear evidence that Humana University will be successful in bringing more students through online degree programs. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the financial analysis of Humana University.