The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Using your cellphone/smartphone while walking to send text messages or replaying to an email the Centerville believs is a major for the increase of sidewalk rage. Taking an action of banning phones while walking Centerville thinks that it will work because it work on Middletown. To evaluate this that will work we need more evidence because there are two different towns.

To begin with, the council of Centervill fails to account that Middletown life's is different from Centervill. What I mean by that: The behavior of Middletown people to be more polite compare to behavor of Centervill people. This is one reason that there was an increase of Centervill to Middletown. In addition to increase the fallacy, the prompt state that there are angry drivers in Centervill but not in Middletown. Thus, the behavior of people plays a major role which is not counted in this argument.

Furthermore, the Centervills council fails to state the population of each city. There is a possibility that the population of the Middletown to be the half of Centervills or the double. We need some numbers in order to address the problem. Having those numbers Centervills council can decide if the comparison with Middletown is a fair or not.

Moreover, there is no evidence that make us sure that the increase of the assaults or property damage came from the sidewalk rage nor from using cellphones. To make it valid Centervill could hire police in roads to observe the situation. Also, in order to reduce the problem of people walking in the roads, rails can be placed in sidewalks.

To sum up, Centervill council falls into fallacies that statead above. Because it worked in Middletown does